Subscribe to the daily newsletter.

BBC Manchester to mark anniversary of Arena attack with day of programmes

Manchester Together

BBC Radio Manchester will mark the first year anniversary of the Manchester Arena attack by broadcasting live from the centre of Manchester throughout Tuesday May 22nd.

Programmes will come live from St Ann’s square in the morning and from Albert Square, where the Manchester Together event is being held, in the evening.

‘Manchester Together – With One Voice’ is taking place from 7.30pm to 9pm and will see choirs come together in song to share the spirit of solidarity and remember all those affected by the Arena attack. The event will culminate in a communal singalong from 8.30pm to 9pm with everyone.

The singalong will be broadcast live on BBC Radio Manchester, with people encouraged to join in wherever they are.

Organisers of the event will be appear with presenter Chelsea Norris on the Breakfast show, along with Lydia Rullow, who started the Don’t Look Back in Anger community singing project. Sir Richard Leese, leader of Manchester City council, will be on just after 8am.

BBC Radio Manchester will also be broadcasting a Civic Memorial Service at Manchester Cathedral earlier on Tuesday May 22nd from 2-3pm. The invited congregation will include the families of those who lost their lives, the injured, first responders, civic leaders and senior national figures.

Kate Squire, Managing Editor of BBC Radio Manchester, said: “BBC Radio Manchester will be at the heart of our community on this very emotional day for the people of Manchester.  

“A year on from that terrible night when we changed the schedule to bring the latest news to our listeners and our presenters stayed on air to listen and talk to those affected, we wanted to be back doing what the station does best, being in amongst the people of Manchester with spirit, a sense of togetherness and pride.”

Related News

Related Jobs

Head of Production

THG Studios

Events & Marketing Coordinator / Executive

David M Robinson

Design Director

Creative Spark Ltd