Subscribe to the daily newsletter.

Peter Kay and Coronation Street triumph at National Television Awards


Peter Kay’s Car Share and Coronation Street were among the winners at last night’s National Television Awards.

Kay’s Manchester-set sitcom took home the Comedy prize to add to its haul of four gongs at the RTS NW awards.

Coronation Street regained the Serial Drama title from Eastenders, with actor Shayne Ward also picking up the Newcomer award.

Ordinary Lies, set in Warrington and produced by RED Production Company, was pipped by Doctor Foster in the New Drama category.

Elsewhere, Ant & Dec took home the TV presenter category for the 15th consecutive year.

The full list of winners:

Talent Show

WINNER: Strictly Come Dancing
Britain’s Got Talent
The Voice UK
The X Factor

Challenge Show

WINNER: The Great British Bake Off
Bear Grylls: Mission Survive
The Apprentice

Serial Drama

WINNER: EastEnders
Coronation Street


WINNER: Peter Kay’s Car Share
Birds of a Feather
Not Going Out


WINNER: Downton Abbey
Doctor Who

New Drama

WINNER: Doctor Foster
Ordinary Lies

Factual Entertainment

WINNER: Gogglebox
DIY SOS: The Big Build
Paul O’Grady: For The Love Of Dogs
Top Gear

Live Magazine Show

WINNER: This Morning
BBC Breakfast
Loose Women
The One Show

Drama Performance

WINNER: Suranne Jones (Doctor Foster)
Sheridan Smith (Black Work)
David Tennant (Broadchurch)
Aidan Turner (Poldark)

Entertainment Programme

WINNER: I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!
Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway
Celebrity Juice
The Graham Norton Show


WINNER: Shayne Ward (Coronation Street)
Gemma Atkinson (Emmerdale)
Richard Blackwood (EastEnders)
Parry Glasspool (Hollyoaks)

Serial Drama Performance

WINNER: Danny Dyer (EastEnders)
Alison King (Coronation Street)
Michael Parr (Emmerdale)
Rakhee Thakrar (EastEnders)


WINNER: The Big Bang Theory
Game of Thrones
Orange is the New Black


WINNER: The Chase
The Jeremy Kyle Show
The Paul O’Grady Show

TV Presenter

WINNER: Ant & Dec
Graham Norton
Mel & Sue
Rylan Clark

TV moment of the year

Aiden Turner in Poldark

Special Recognition Award

Billy Connolly

Related News