Subscribe to the daily newsletter.

Educate North Awards 2017: The shortlist

We’re pleased to announce the shortlist for the Educate North and UK Leadership Awards and Conference, which returns to Manchester on April 27th – jump straight to the shortlist here.

The awards, now in their third year and partnered by The Telegraph and Prolific North, celebrate the success of the North’s 33 universities and the wider Higher and Further Education sectors.

The winners will be announced at a spectacular dinner on the evening of Thursday 27th April at the Hilton Hotel in Manchester.Educate the North logo with Telegraph

It will be preceded by a conference in the afternoon, which will showcase best practice and the world-class status of many of the North’s leading HE institutions along with high level presentations and debate.

The Academic Chairman of the Conference is Professor Sir Cary Cooper CBE, Pro-Vice Chancellor of University of Lancaster and one of the UK’s leading specialists in management psychology; supported by Professor Phil Harris of The University of Chester and Nik Miller a former Executive at The University of York now part of The Bridge Group.

And the University Entrepreneurs Challenge will return, giving startup business owners the chance to compete for a cash prize, expert assistance, a professional promotional film highlighting your business and influential new contacts.

The Challenge is supported by Alliance Manchester Business School’s Enterprise Centre and the University’s agent for intellectual property commercialisation, UMIP. Sponsors also include the innovative University of Central Lancashire and Crystalised, a company which works in partnership with Educational Resellers to ensure they get the best, bespoke ICT solutions for schools, colleges and universities.

The 2017 UEC will be presented by Entrepreneur and Chairman of UCLAN’s Executive Board David Taylor CBE, formerly the lead judge on Granada Television’s pioneering enterprise competition ‘Flying Start’.

For further information about the Awards evening and the conference or to book tickets, please contact Georgina Jones at Don’t Panic Projects on 01706 828855 or by emailing her at

Educate North Awards 2017

educate north logo 2016

The shortlist

Business/Industry Collaboration

Liverpool John Moores University – Beverley Clifton Morris

Liverpool John Moores University – MSc Industrial Biotechnology teaching team and multiple biotechnology companies in the North West

LJMU’s Teacher Education Team and Liverpool World Centre Holding Difficult Conversations

Newcastle University and Northumbrian Water

UCLan – LaunchPad Leadership Development Programme

University of Hull and AAK

Vital North Partnership – Newcastle University and Seven Stories the National Centre for Childrens Books


Social Mobility Award

The Judges have decided not to release a shortlist for this category.


Employer Engagement Award

LJMU – World of Work Employer Engagement Team

Salford City College – Career Ready Programme in Accounting

University of Chester Faculty of Business & Management – Chartered Manager Degree Apprenticeship

University of Cumbria


Environmental Industry Award

Newcastle University

University of Chester Hospitality Services – The Eco Box

University of Chester Sustainability Unit – Energy and Carbon Lab


External Relations Team of the Year

Salford City College

University of Central Lancashire

University of Chester


Innovation Award

Huddersfield New College – Innovation in the promotion of Equality Diversity and Inclusion


University of Central Lancashire – UCLan LaunchPad Leadership Development Programme

Liverpool Hope University – WORDBANK


Student Experience Award

Enterprise Student Experience

Interface at South Tyneside College

Liverpool John Moores University Library Services Library Standards

Newcastle University Students’ Union – Inclusive Sport Offering

The Porters of the University of Chester

University of Hull – Health and Wellbeing Team

University of Hull – Middleton Hall


Research Team of the Year

The Judges have decided not to release a shortlist for this category.


Lecturer / Academic of the Year

Dr Tony Wall – University of Chester

Peter Cowling – University of York


International Transnational Award

The Judges have decided not to release a shortlist for this category.


UK Leadership Award

Dr Lindsey Whiterod OBE – South Tyneside College

Ian White Domestic Bursar and Director of Hospitality and Residential Services – University of Chester

Peter Cowling – University of York

Professor Mike Thomas – University of Central Lancashire


UK Apprenticeship Award

The Judges have decided not to release a shortlist for this category.


Students’ Union of the Year

Chester Students’ Union

Leeds Trinity Students’ Union

Newcastle University Students’ Union

University of Cumbria Students’ Union


Further Education College of the Year

South Tyneside College

Salford City College


Sixth Form College of the Year

Huddersfield New College

St John Rigby College


Business School of the Year

The Judges have decided not to release a shortlist for this category.


University of the Year

Liverpool John Moores University

The University of Liverpool

Newcastle University

Subscribe to the Prolific North Daily Newsletter Today!

Want all the latest content from Prolific North delivered direct to your inbox daily? Of course you do!

Related News