Subscribe to the daily newsletter.

Catherine McCormack and Colin Firth join Lockerbie drama

New cast members have been revealed for Sky and Peacock Original drama, Lockerbie.

Catherine McCormack (Slow Horses, Temple, Lucan) joins Colin Firth (The King’s Speech, A Single Man, The Staircase) to play Jane Swire opposite Firth’s Dr Jim Swire.

The couple lost their daughter, Flora, in the terror attack on Pan Am Flight 103 in 1988. The 5-part series will explore their search for justice ever since. 

They will star alongside Sam Troughton (Chernobyl) as Murray Guthrie, Mark Bonnar (Napoleon, Guilt) as Roderick McGill, Andy Nyman (A Small Light, Judy) as Edwin Bollier, Ardalan Esmaili (Opponent) as Abdelbaset al-Megrahi and Selwa Jghalef (Layers) as Aisha.

On 21st December 1988, 259 passengers and crew were killed when Pan Am Flight 103 exploded over Lockerbie 38 minutes after take-off, with a further 11 residents losing their life as the plane came down over the Scottish town. 

In the wake of the disaster, Dr Jim Swire (Firth), is nominated spokesperson for the UK victims’ families, who have united to demand truth and justice. Travelling across continents and political divides, Jim embarks on a relentless journey that not only jeopardises his stability, family and life, but completely overturns his trust in the justice system. As the truth shifts under Jim’s feet, his view of the world is left forever sullied.

The series is a co-production between Carnival Films, which is part of Universal International Studios, and Sky Studios. 

Scottish playwright David Harrower (Blackbird, Knives in Hens) is lead writer. Maryam Hamidi (Vigil) is guest writer on an episode. Additional writing comes from Jim, Kirsten and Naomi Sheridan. 

BAFTA Award-winning Otto Bathurst (Peaky Blinders, The Winter King) is lead director. Jim Loach (Save Me) will also direct an episode. Gareth Neame and Nigel Marchant are Executive Producers for Carnival Films. Sam Hoyle is Executive Producer for Sky Studios. Additional Executive Producers include David Harrower, Otto Bathurst, Liz Trubridge, Jim Sheridan, Kirsten Sheridan and Oskar Slingerland. 

The series is based on the book The Lockerbie Bombing: A Father’s Search for Justice by Jim Swire and Peter Biddulph – as well as other sources.

Related News