Subscribe to the daily newsletter.

Prolific North Awards – entries now closed

The deadline for submissions to the Prolific North Awards is 5pm today – Wednesday 27 March.  After that we won’t be able to take any more entries – even if the dog really did eat your submission or the snow swept your PC or tablet away…

Entries have been coming in from across the North of England for our inaugural awards and we plan to announce the shortlist on 10th April ahead of the awards dinner on Thursday 16th May.

The 18 categories available span media sites, digital, radio and TV, indies, apps and events and marketing campaigns.

If you have any last minute queries, please contact our event managers Don’t Panic on 01706 828855.

To submit an entry or to obtain more information on the entry process, judges and judging criteria, please click here to visit our dedicated micro site.

The Awards dinner itself is being held at The Point at Lancashire County Cricket Club on the evening of Thursday 16 May.

Given the quality of the awards submissions so far, we are confident that the awards evening will indeed see the largest gathering this year of the North’s leading media, creative and marketing industry players.

The headline partner of the Awards is Melbourne Server Hosting and we’re also pleased that recruitment agency Orchard has agreed to sponsor the Creative Agency category.

Meehan Meehan

The co-hosts at the Awards are Jim Hancock and Beccy Meehan. Hancock is already a familiar face to Prolific North readers while Meehan is the new weekend presenter of BBC North West Tonight.

The awards ceremony will be followed by an informal party at which the DJ Clint Boon will be entertaining guests with his own choice of sounds.

There are 18 categories open for entry together with one category  “Personality”  which the judges will decide upon.

The judging panel we have brought together is an outstanding one, full of seasoned and acclaimed industry players, including:

Russ Brady/head of group public relations/the Co-op
Sean Marley/ formerly MD of Lime Pictures and now an independent
Alice Morrison/AMO Media Associates
Martin Anderson/former chair of BDH and now creative consultant
Andy Green/Andy Green Creativity
Jim Hancock/journalist and broadcaster
Jon Brown/Paver Smith and a judge this year at the Newspaper Society awards
David Edmundson-Bird/principal lecturer in digital marketing & enterprise, MMU
Sarah Hartley/journalist

Frediani Frediani

Steve Kuncewicz/intellectual property, media and social media lawyer

Tony Wood/head of site optimisation/
Rob McLoughlin/Carm productions and broadcasting
Paul Mousley/writer
Richard Frediani/programme editor/ITN

Sally Sykes, director of external affairs, EEF

Andy Barke, agency head, Google UK


Each judge will be casting their eyes over just a few categories related to their sphere of expertise. If there are any conflicts, the judge involved will not participate in either seeing those entries or in the judging process of the said category.

The 18 categories open for entry submissions are:

  • Newspaper
    Media web site
    TV programme
    Creative agency
    Media agency
    Media sales
    Digital agency
    SEO & PPC agency
    Social media agency
    PR agency
    Marketing/integrated communications campaign of the year
    Independent production company
    Animation/Graphics company
    Radio station
    App of the Year
    Live event of the year
    Best Newcomer

Further information on all the above can be found at the micro site.

Good luck.

Related News