BBC Sport reveals Grands Prix line-up for 2014 season

David Prior's picture

BBC Sport will broadcast next year's British and season-ending Abu Dhabi Grands Prix as part of its coverage of the 2014 season.

The broadcaster today revealed the nine races it will cover live on television. They are:

  • Malaysia - 30 March
  • Spain - 11 May
  • Canada -  8 June
  • Silverstone - 6 July
  • Belgium - 24 August
  • Italy - 7 Sept
  • Japan - 5 Oct
  • Russia - 12 Oct
  • Abu Dhabi - 23 Nov

The remaining 10 races will be shown as extended highlights, and all 19 races will be live on BBC Radio 5 live or 5 live sports extra.

Under the shared deal that began in 2012, Sky will show the whole F1 season live on its dedicated channel.

Ben Gallop, BBC Head of F1, said: “It has been another great year for F1 on the BBC. We’re now very much looking forward to 2014 and feel we have a strong package for our TV coverage.

"This format of both live and highlights is attracting a wide range of viewers and we hope to see even more people tuning in next year to experience the magic of Formula 1.”