The soundtrack for Liverpool International Festival of Music now available

Nick Jaspan's picture
Natalie McCool Natalie McCool

The organisers of Liverpool's inaugural International Festival of Music which ended on Sunday having attracted over 200,000 fans, have released an 'official' 12 track compilation, entitled ‘It’s Liverpool Vol:1’.

The compilation, which is now available to download and can also be found on CD,  has been produced by Liverpool’s Cavern Records and features a selection of contributions from the assorted regional and national artists, all of whom hail from Liverpool.

The Festival's 2013 curator, Yaw Owusu, who oversaw the compilation of the album said: “Tens of thousands of people have partied across Liverpool during LIMF. Their ears and their hearts have been opened to a world of new Mersey music and this album is a fantastic way to remember and celebrate that.

"Liverpool is an undisputed city of music. It’s in our DNA and it is constantly evolving. The success of this year’s festival has been astounding and has fed our ambition."

The album features a mix of tracks from The Tea Street Band, The Red Suns, The Mono LPs. The Dirty Rivers, Sugarmen, KOF, Stephen Langstaff, Ian Skelly, Michael Head and the Red Elastic Band, Bill Ryder-Jones, Bird and Natalie McCool, who last week won Best Female at the Mersey Music Awards.

McCool added: “Liverpool’s music scene is fast paced, dynamic, creative and full of character. It could not be made anywhere else and this album is the perfect representation of that. It is also a fantastic starter album for people who love Mersey music but may have fell behind with its latest sounds.

The Festival was supported by the city's economic development body Liverpool Vision which is keen to promote Liverpool's credentials in the areas of music and tourism.