Everton triumphs at Northwest Football Awards

David Prior's picture

Everton claimed four prizes at the annual Northwest Football Awards in Manchester last night, including the award for best marketing campaign.

Its work in the community was recognised twice, Everton Ladies' Toni Duggan picked up the women's award while the Goodison club's 'Make It Everton' campaign triumphed in the marketing category.

Rippleffect won the business category Rippleffect won the business category

Not to be outdone, neighbours Liverpool won the sponsorship category for their association with international banking group, Standard Chartered, while its HIV awareness initiative took home the CSR campaign prize.

Liverpool digital agency Rippleffect, meanwhile, won the business category, while the Daily Telegraph's Mark Ogden walked away with the journalist prize.

Over 500 attended the event at Lancashire County Cricket Club, with the judging panel including former FA chief executive Mark Palios.

It was hosted by BBC presenter Dan Walker, with Sir Alex Ferguson making an appearance via pre-recorded video to receive the lifetime achievement and manager of the year awards.

The full list of winners is below:

Community Initiative of the Year: Bolton Wanderers Community Trust, Everton in the Community-Safe Hands

Community Club of the Year: Everton in the Community; Highly Commended: Morecambe FC

CSR Campaign of the Year: Liverpool FC

Contribution to Sport in the North West: The Neville family

Best Club Marketing Campaign: Everton FC

Best Club Sponsorship Engagement/Partnership: Liverpool FC

Business Services to Football: Rippleffect

Professional Services to Football: Brabners LLP; Special Award: Mark Hovell of Mills & Reeve

Football Journalist of the Year: Mark Ogden (Telegraph)

The Fabrice Muamba Award for Medical & Sports Science Professional: Rob Swire (Manchester United Head Physio)             

Rising Star of the Year: Jerome Sinclair (Liverpool FC)

Manager of the Year: Sir Alex Ferguson

Women's Player of the Year: Toni Duggan (Everton Ladies)

Player of the Year (Conference): George Horan (Chester FC)

Player of the Year ( LeagueTwo): Jack Redshaw (Morecambe)

Player of the Year (League One): John Welsh (Preston North End)

Player of the Year (Championship): Jay Spearing (Bolton Wanderers)

Player of the Year (Premier League): Jamie Carragher (Liverpool FC)

Goal of the Year: Robin van Persie

Unsung Hero: Barrie Hipkiss (Chester FC)

Lifetime Contribution Award: Sir Alex Ferguson