Victoria Derbyshire and BBC Tees among winners at Radio Academy awards

David Prior's picture
by David Prior

Radio 5 live's Victoria Derbyshire was last night named speech radio broadcaster of the year at the Radio Academy awards.

Derbyshire won gold for her morning show, with judges praising "an outstanding entry which demonstrated this presenter's impressive versatility: from dealing with callers to hosting OBs, from empathising to holding to account".

Victoria Derbyshire Victoria Derbyshire

It was one of three awards for the MediaCityUK-based station, with Danny Baker winning the speech radio personality prize for the fourth straight year for his Saturday morning show, and The Day We Won Wimbledon picking up best sports programme.

However it lost out in the coveted breakfast show category to Capital Radio's Dave Berry and Lisa Snowdon.

BBC Tees was named station of the year (under 1 million), with judges saying it was a station "where 'proud of where we live' is not just a strap line but a daily inspiration to great local radio".

BBC Radio 2 took home the main station of the year prize, while Tony Blackburn received the gold award for his half-century on air.

The full list of winners:

Best Community Programming Gold
Slavery on our Streets – LBC 97.3

Best News Feature or Documentary Gold
Tempted by Teacher – markthree media for BBC Radio 1

Best News & Current Affairs Programme Gold
PM – BBC Radio 4

Best Speech Programme Gold
The Frank Skinner Show – Avalon for Absolute Radio

Best Coverage of a Live Event Gold
The Death of Nelson Mandela – BBC World Service News and BBC Africa Service for BBC World Service

Best Music Feature or Documentary Gold
Soul Music: Strange Fruit – BBC Bristol for BBC Radio 4

Best Feature or Documentary Gold
Between the Ears: Mighty Beast – BBC Bristol for BBC Radio 3

Best Competition Gold
The Heart House – Heart West Midlands

Best Promotional Campaign Gold
Wimbledon 2013 – BBC Global News Creative Services for BBC World Service

Best Use of Branded Content Gold
The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes – Absolute Radio

Best Entertainment Programme Gold
Greg James – BBC Radio 1

Best Creative Innovation Gold
#Lipdublincoln – BBC Radio Lincolnshire

Best Technical Innovation Gold
InStream for Absolute Radio – Absolute Radio

Local Radio Journalist of the Year Gold
BBC Radio Norfolk News Team – BBC Radio Norfolk National Radio

Journalist of the Year Gold
Tom Swarbrick – LBC 97.3

Best Interview of the Year Gold
Winifred Robinson interviews Ralph Bulger – BBC Radio Documentaries for BBC Radio 4

Special Award
The Production & Presentation Team for Call Clegg & Ask Boris – LBC

Best Drama Gold
The Morpeth Carol – BBC Radio Drama London for BBC Radio 4

Best Comedy Gold
The Secret World – BBC Radio Comedy for BBC Radio 4

Best Music Programme Gold
Jamie Cullum – Folded Wing for BBC Radio 2

Best Specialist Music Programme Gold
The Beatdown on XFM with Scroobius Pip – The XFM Network

Radio Brand of the Year Gold
The Absolute Radio Network

Speech Radio Broadcaster of the Year Gold
Victoria Derbyshire – BBC Radio 5 live

Music Radio Broadcaster of the Year Gold
Zane Lowe – BBC Radio 1

Music Radio Personality of the Year Gold
Sam & Amy – Gem 106

Speech Radio Personality of the Year Gold
Danny Baker – Campbell Davison Media for BBC Radio 5 live

Best Station Imaging Gold

Best Sports Programme Gold
The Day We Won Wimbledon – BBC Radio 5 live

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10 million) Gold
Iain Lee – BBC Three Counties Radio

Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus) Gold
The Capital Breakfast Show with Dave Berry & Lisa Snowdon – 95.8 Capital FM

Station of the Year (under 1 million) Gold
BBC Tees

Station of the Year (1 million plus) Gold
BBC Radio Ulster

UK Station of the Year Gold
BBC Radio 2

Gold Award
Tony Blackburn

Enjoyed this? Get our latest updates in your inbox every day

Subscribe to Prolific North’s morning newsletter to keep up with all the most important things going on in your sector.