Northern stations win big at BBC Local Radio Awards

Stephen Chapman's picture

A very good night for stations in the North of England which were recognised in almost every category at the BBC Local Radio Frank Gillard Awards.

BBC Radio Humberside beat Radio Leeds and Radio Tees to be named Station of the Year, while BBC Radio Merseyside’s Tony Snell picked up 2 Golds for Breakfast Programme and Programme Presenter of the year.

BBC Radio Lancashire’s Gerald Jackson was honoured with the outstanding contribution award. Radio Lancashire also picked up the gold award for faith programming.

Speaking about the North West winners, Aziz Rashid, head of regional and local programmes BBC North West said:

“I'm delighted that BBC North West Radio stations picked up four gold awards. It is wonderful for our teams to be recognised by our peers and shows the strength and depth of BBC local radio in this region.”

Journalist of the year went to Tracy Gee at Radio Leeds, with silver going to Radio Lancashire’s Steve Becker and Julie Clayton from Radio Cumbria picking up the bronze award.

Radio Sheffield won the original journalism award, with Radio York and Radio Humberside coming second and third,

Radio York got a gold award in the Ultimate Hot Seat category for Jonathan Cowap’s Big Conversation.

Station of the Year

GOLD BBC Radio Humberside

SILVER BBC Radio Leeds



Breakfast Programme

GOLD BBC Radio Merseyside: Tony Snell

SILVER BBC Radio Leeds: Liz Green

BRONZE BBC Guernsey: Jim Cathcart


Programme Presenter

GOLD BBC Radio Merseyside Tony Snell

SILVER BBC Three Counties Radio Jonathan Vernon Smith

BRONZE BBC Radio Berkshire Andrew Peach


Original Journalism

GOLD BBC Radio Sheffield across the station

SILVER BBC Radio York across the station

BRONZE BBC Radio Humberside “NEETS” and Job Scams


Coverage of a News Story

GOLD BBC Radio Oxford The Bullfinch trial on grooming and child sexual exploitation

SILVER BBC London 94.9 The murder of Lee Rigby in Woolwich

BRONZE BBC Tees Katrice Lee – a family’s battle to find out what happened to their missing daughter


Journalist of The Year

GOLD BBC Radio Leeds Tracy Gee

SILVER BBC Radio Lancashire Steve Becker

BRONZE BBC Radio Cumbria Julie Clayton


Best Mid-Morning

GOLD BBC Three Counties Radio Jonathan Vernon Smith

SILVER BBC Essex Dave Monk

BRONZE BBC Radio Cumbria Kevin Fernihough


The Ultimate Hot Seat

GOLD BBC Radio York: Jonathan Cowap’s Big Conversation

SILVER BBC Radio Suffolk: The Mark Murphy Show

BRONZE BBC Three Counties Radio: The JVS Show



GOLD BBC Radio Oxford: The Team That Never Was – the story of millionaire publisher Robert Maxwell’s plans to merge Oxford United the club with local rivals Reading FC in 1983.

SILVER BBC Tees: Spennymoor Town at Wembley – the story of how a team from a town with a population of 18 000 won the FA Vase at Wembley Stadium.

BRONZE BBC London 94.9: Football League Final Day  – after a year in which some of the biggest sport headlines happened in London.


Best Programme

GOLD BBC Radio Suffolk Britten on the Beach

SILVER BBC Radio Humberside The Kick Murphy Letters – A Victorian Teenagers Life at Sea

BRONZE BBC Radio Bristol The Laura Rawlings Show live from the set of “Springwatch”


Faith Programming

GOLD BBC Radio Lancashire

SILVER BBC London 94.9 - Inspirit with Jumoké Fashola

BRONZE BBC Radio Nottingham


Station Promotion Campaign

GOLD BBC Radio Oxford – Big Tour of Oxfordshire

SILVER BBC Hereford and Worcester – A Flag for Worcestershire

BRONZE BBC Radio Humberside – The Class of Radio Humberside


Outstanding Contribution Award

Gerald Jackson, BBC English Regions and BBC Radio Lancashire