Northern locations excluded from applying for community radio licences

David Prior's picture
by David Prior

Major towns and cities in the North will be excluded from Ofcom's third round of community radio licences.

The regulator has invited applications for licences in the region but has limited applicants to certain parts of West and South Yorkshire, Humberside and the North West.

There are however no FM frequencies available in Manchester, Liverpool, Warrington, Chester, Leeds, Bradford, Scunthorpe, Barnsley, Doncaster and Rotherham.

The only places where stations are welcome are Lancashire, Crewe or Nantwich, Huddersfield or Halifax or Dewsbury, Sheffield and Southport.

West Yorkshire, Cheshire and Manchester already have a number of community radio stations from the previous two licensing rounds, but Liverpool City has none.

The closing date for applications is October 15.

Enjoyed this? Get our latest updates in your inbox every day

Subscribe to Prolific North’s morning newsletter to keep up with all the most important things going on in your sector.