Don’t Be Shy names new Managing Director and management team

Stephen Chapman's picture

Don’t Be Shy has named Caroline Pomfret as its new Managing Director.

Pomfret co-founded the agency in 2016, with industry veteran, Julian Sowerby, the former MD of Tidalwave.

The promotion means that he’ll be moving from the MD role to Chairman.

“Don’t be Shy has been a genuine success story which demonstrates why giving ambitious and talented young professionals a chance is crucial for keeping the creative industry alive and relevant. We broke the mould when we formed Don’t be Shy. I brought with me decades of traditional marketing experience and commercial acumen, having founded and led agencies in the past. Caroline brought fresh ideas and a truly digitally native approach to solution delivery. This was a very powerful skill set for launch, but now is the time to set the structure to support continued good results,” he explained.

“Caroline has rapidly developed the business skills to take over the reins as Managing Director, and in my role as Chairman, I am very much looking forward to helping guide Don’t be Shy in its next stage of development.”

She will be supported by a new Senior Management Team, which will also include Strategy Director, Heather Swales; Lisa Crowther, Head of Campaigns; James Tudsbury, Head of Technology; and Senior Account Director, Emma Sivakumaran.

“It’s been a real journey from our early days as a brand new agency, to what is now a force to be reckoned with. We’ve never lost a competitive pitch, won prestigious marketing awards against much larger and longer established agencies and continue to gain share of wallet from existing clients on a global scale,” said Comfret.

“We’ve got our sights firmly set on further growth, but to achieve this while remaining true to our core values of quality, agility and the best customer service, we needed to put the right structures and people in place. And that’s exactly what we’ve done.”



The shortlist for the Prolific North Tech Awards 2019 is out

The winners will be announced on May 8th